About tbithell
I am the Chief Technical Architect of Portals at B2B Technologies, LLC in Atlanta GA. I first started working on SharePoint in 2005, and have built SharePoint portals and developed custom solutions for a wide variety of users. I have a MS in Computer Science and am a SharePoint 2010 MCITP and MCPD. I am very excited about the new version, and will be blogging about it on a regular basis as I explore the newly released Preview and future releases.

5 Responses to SharePoint 2013 User Profiles – AD Import Configuration

  1. Andy says:

    Regarding your Update:
    “UPDATE – So I had everything working great, but was unable to see user profiles in search. The profiles were in my index and were being crawled, so I turned to my logs and noticed an error that said my service account didn’t have execute permissions on the Config database. I added that permission and began to see profiles in search ”

    Which Service Account did not have the execute permissions on the Config DB and how did you set them to make it work?

    I got the same problem, no user profiles in search and an error when clicking on converstions.

    I hope you can help me out on this.

    Thanks for your great post and especially the update, cause it showed me the the way to look for the error.

  2. tbithell says:

    I was referring to my default services account that runs the SharePoint Service App Default Application Pool.

  3. Pingback: Install and Configure Workflow for SharePoint 2013 | sharepointv15

  4. Wesley M. says:

    I’ve setup this Profile Import in our SharePoint 2013 Environment, but I am unable to actually use the “follow” a site feature. I continually get an error, and am wondering if this is related to me using an Import as opposed to the full fledged synchronization. For example, the ‘User Profile Synchronization Service’ isn’t running on the actual server. When I go to start it, I am hit with the following message:

    This can only be used if ‘SharePoint Profile Synchronization’ is enabled in the ‘Configure Synchronization Settings’ for this User Profile Application.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated

    • tbithell says:

      Sorry it took me so long to get back with you with an answer. I am not aware of there being any restriction, and doubt that there is. The Sync Service is really for other directory services, the AD Import just eliminates the need to go through that configuration for a technology that is already tightly integrated with SharePoint. I will look into it when I have time, and get back with you. I’m extremely busy right now, so I can’t promise it will be very soon, but I do have an environment I can test this in and will check it out for you as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

