Setting up SharePoint 2013 Logging

From the central admin home page click the Monitoring links on the left nav

Click Configure diagnostic logging

You are going to leave the top portion of the page alone.  You are really only going to use this to change logging levels of specific or all areas when troubleshooting issues.

Make sure that Enable Event log Flood Protection is checked.  Set the logging path in the Path text box.  I’m going to leave this as the default, but in a production environment it is a good idea for logs to be written to a separate disc .  I’m also going to leave the Number of days to store log files at 14.  You are going to want to limit this, but in production it is recommended that you backup the logs, so that they can be researched if needed.  I’m also going to click the restrict Trace Log disk space usage check box and set the max to 2 GB.  This setting really depends on the disc that you are writing your logs to.  After all these settings are sorted out I will click OK and this portion is complete.

I will be returned back to the Monitoring Page where I will click on Configure usage and health data collection

From here I will click the enable usage data collection check box, and leave the Events to Log settings set to default.

I’m going to leave my log file location set to default, but the same thing applies here as with trace logging, if you are in production this should really be a separate and if possible dedicated disc.

Next I’m going to check my logging schedules by clicking on the provided links.     These both just bring you to a list of jobs that are run as part of the Health Data Collection and Log Collection Schedule.  You can changes this if you want, but I will leave mine as default.

Next I get the option to name my database server.  I personally take advantage of this.  I like to add a prefix to my database names, so that they are all grouped together when I open SQL Server Management Studio.  In a past life I was a DBA which makes me appreciate this sort of thing.

Clicking on OK will create the database and concludes the logging set up for SharePoint 2013

About tbithell
I am the Chief Technical Architect of Portals at B2B Technologies, LLC in Atlanta GA. I first started working on SharePoint in 2005, and have built SharePoint portals and developed custom solutions for a wide variety of users. I have a MS in Computer Science and am a SharePoint 2010 MCITP and MCPD. I am very excited about the new version, and will be blogging about it on a regular basis as I explore the newly released Preview and future releases.

Leave a Reply

