Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview

Yesterday I was answering questions on the SharePoint 2010 forums, and much to my surprise, noticed a 2013 tab in the navigation.

Clicking on the tab brought me here: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/fp142366.aspx

Where I found loads of information AND a link to download the SharePoint 2013 Preview.  I went ahead and started downloading the preview right away and began reading and watching videos about SharePoint 15.

After downloading the preview I ran windows update to bring the 3 servers in my virtual farm up to date.  My environment is made up of a Domain Controller, a SQL Server and a SharePoint Server.  All of which are running Windows Server 2008 R2

Today I went through the steps to install the preview;

First I installed the Eval Version of SQL 2012 which I downloaded from:

http://www.microsoft.com/betaexperience/pd/SQL2012EvalCTA/enus/default.aspx

Here are some install instructions:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms143219.aspx

Next I set up my service accounts.  I created a spsetup and spfarm account and gave them both dbcreator and security admin roles on my database.

As I always do I created a SQL Alias with which to connect to the SQL Server.  I also created the firewall rules needed.  The resources below cover this in detail.  Ignore the fact that the firewall rule post is about MOSS, this makes no difference given that the firewall rules are all you care about.

http://www.sharepointassist.com/2010/02/02/configure-a-sql-server-alias-for-sharepoint-sql-server-2008/

Make sure that your SQL Server’s firewall lets in traffic on ports 1433 and 1434.

After completing the steps above I was ready to begin.

I had the option to either burn the image I downloaded, or use Virtual CloneDrive or something similar to mount the image.

I used Virtual CloneDrive and browsed to the drive that the the image was mounted to and clicked on the installer.  Doing so resulted in the screen below appearing:

From here I clicked install software prerequisites.  The prereqs installer began to run, but after a little while I received the error message pictured below:

This began a fairly long troubleshooting session.  At first I just tried to rerun it, but I just received the same error.  Next I started searching the internet for the download, so I could just download it and move on.  This is when I learned that Windows Management Framework CTP2 was no longer available because the RC had been released, so that answered that.

I found the download link for the RC,

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=29939

I proceeded to download this version, but instead of it installing, I was presented with this error box

After doing some digging and downloading the update over and over again it eventually worked.

I then ran the prereqs installed again and it moved on, but I ran into another error when it attempted to download SQL Server 2008 R2 SP1 Native Client.  Luckily, this time I just had  to click retry to solve that.

The prereqs installer continued on happily from this point and completed.

I restarted my machine and was then ready to install SharePoint 2013.

Side note: If you have ever install and configured SharePoint 2010 or 2007 you’ll notice that this all looks very similar.

The first thing I needed to do was enter the product key that Microsoft sent me when I downloaded the trial.

Next I had to accept the license terms, select the appropriate server type, and click install now.

Upon completion of the install I was presented with the screen below.  At this point I had the option to start the config wizard,  or run through the steps above for the other SharePoint servers in my farm.  I only have one SharePoint server, so I went ahead and let it open the config wizard for me.

Had I decided to run this later, the config wizard is accessible by opening the start menu, selecting all programs, selecting SharePoint 2013 Products, and clicking on the SharePoint 2013 Products Configuration Wizard.

When the Configuration Wizard opened I was presented  with this screen.

I clicked yes when this pop up appeared.

I selected the appropriate option below.

I entered the database server and set up account information.

I entered a passphrase, and noted it so I can add servers to my farm later.

I selected the appropriate options.

I made sure everything was entered properly and started the configuration.

Upon completion of the configuration I was presented with a screen that indicated that all went well and let me know that it would open Central Admin when I  closed the window.  My apologies for the lack of a screen shot.

When Central Admin first opened I was given an option to be part of the customer feedback program or something along those lines.  Once again I apologize for the lact of a screen shot.

Next I was presented with the option to allow another wizard to configure my farm further, or chose to do this myself.  I personally like to do this myself since that is how it should be done in a production environment.

Upon making a selection I was presented with Central Admin

Stay tuned for more blog posts about SharePoint 2013

About tbithell
I am the Chief Technical Architect of Portals at B2B Technologies, LLC in Atlanta GA. I first started working on SharePoint in 2005, and have built SharePoint portals and developed custom solutions for a wide variety of users. I have a MS in Computer Science and am a SharePoint 2010 MCITP and MCPD. I am very excited about the new version, and will be blogging about it on a regular basis as I explore the newly released Preview and future releases.

8 Responses to Installing SharePoint 2013 Preview

  1. Brian says:

    Do you plan to try installing this using powershell? Did the wizard create databases with GUIDs like it does in 2010?

  2. kelvencleark says:

    While installing something errors are something that I really hates, finally after two errors everything was all set for you. Hope this won’t be a case with me and wish without any error SharePoint to get installed on my machine.

  3. Pingback: Installing SharePoint 2013 RTM | sharepointv15

Leave a Reply

